top of page

50 on Kinabalu: Why?


<photo: at the summit of Mount Kinabalu>

Here's a collection of quotes from the 50 climbers who will be summiting Mount Kinabalu on 26 Sept 2017:

"I like the outdoor and if I am still able, health wise, I will continue to do these activities. Also like to see the new trail.. Climbed via timpohon and mesilau before.  Was inspired by a fellow climber once, who promised himself to climb at least once in 10 years.."

"Turning 50 in 2017(dec) is a reason to celebrate and to renew my spirit. No better way than celebrating with beloved MIA who also turns 50😄 and MIA friends. Last climbed in 1992 as a very fit 24+ person. Also a tribute to my parents who have encouraged me to go for greater heights in spite of limitations. As i write this my mum lies in an extended care facility ravaged by of a neuro degenerative disease called Progressive Supranuclear Palsy for which there is no cure and she is in an advanced and critical stage. Her body is stiff and her brain is unable to command her body to work. When she was still able to speak she asked her doctor to make her walk again. Now she lies immobile and dependent. I would like to push myself physically so as to do what my mum can no longer do and which she so wants to do ie to just stand up , move around like the lively person she used to be. I want to do this for her and in her honour. She is in a critical stage and could be called by the Lord anytime as complications have set in."

“We must live our life, live our dreams. Our dreams keep us alive and remember to make life as great as you can make it to be.” 

George Mallory is famously quoted as having replied to the question "Why did you want to climb Mount Everest?" with the retort "Because it's there", which has been called "the most famous three words in mountaineering".

recent posts
bottom of page